On our Matrix Server ( https://chat.brickshop.io ) we maintain a number of public and private (encrypted) rooms. Here is a list of public rooms. If you create a new room and would like it listed, reach out to an admin or update this list yourself.
Our chat group, +rooms:brickshop.io is also available, presenting a list of chatrooms you can easily join from within the software itself.
#general:brickshop.io- general room (you have to join, you are not automatically added)
#wiki:brickshop.io- chat about this wiki; changes to the wiki are tweeted here
#pdx:brickshop.io- general talk about PDX. Remember, this is public!
#tech:brickshop.io- software, hardware, and everything geeky
You can change the settings for any one-to-one chat or group room by clicking on the cog icon next to the room name.
You can restrict the access of a room to people who have been nominately invited by selecting the “only people who have been invited” option in the room settings. People knowing the link of the room won’t be able to access it if an invite hasn’t been explicitly sent to their email or id.
You can restrict the access of a room to people with whom you shared a link to the room by selecting the “anyone who knows the room link” option in the room settings. Selecting this option will not make the room publicly visible to the rest of the community.
You can get your room listed into your server’s directory by checking the “list this room in the (your server name's) directory”. By checking this box anyone making a search on the server will be able to see it. However, they will be able to join only if you haven’t restricted the access to it to people being invited.</your>
If your room is listed in the directory, people will know it exists but they will only be able to join it if you allowed the access to it to anyone knowing the link.
It depends on how you configured the history visibility for the room. By default every member of the room can read its history. But you can decide that new joiners will only see the history they are part of, I.E. Members will only be able to see the history of the room since they were invited (or joined, both options are available) . However it is important to note that these settings are not retroactive and only apply from the time they are selected: if you have a discussion with the history being visible to every member since the start, then change it to discuss an important matter so that people only see the history from the time they joined, new members will have access to all the history before you changed the option.
Making the history visible to anyone means that people can see what is being said in a room before joining it. So typically, if you are browsing the room directory and see a room which might be interesting, you will have the opportunity to “peek” into it, having a view of what has been said without joining it. This gives users the opportunity to gauge a room before joining. It is a useful option for rooms publicly listed and hosting public discussions, or for people you share your room link with, so that they have an idea of what they’re going into before joining.
By default the room has an ugly identifier which is barely human readable. Setting an address for a room allows you to give it a simple reference making it easier to share a link to it. The addresses are linked to the server you are registered (e.G. Matrix.Org if your id is @username:matrix.Org). A room can have different addresses on the same homeserver and addresses on different homeservers. They are just a user friendly entry point, but are required the moment you want to make the room accessible in other ways than by inviting users.
The favourite section allows you to pin and order important rooms which will be displayed at the top of your riot room list.
The low priority section allows you to declutter your room list by moving rooms you consider less important to the bottom.
The “historical” section lists all the rooms you’ve left and allows you to access the history you have there. You won’t see the new activity in these rooms, only what happened before you left.
In the roles and permissions section of the room’s settings you’ll be able to configure the privilege level are required to perform various actions in the room, e.G. Send a message, ban / kick members, redact messages, update the room’s settings, invite new members, etc..